Mr. Gomez practices in the areas of business litigation, Native American law, insurance, bankruptcy, products liability, and appeals. In the area of American Indian/Native American law, he represents tribes, tribal businesses, and non-tribal entities that work in Indian country in the areas of gaming, insurance, bankruptcy, environmental law, natural resource development, and business transactions. He has represented tribal clients in federal, state, and tribal courts, including complex litigation for breach of trust, accountings, and cultural properties, and in appeals before the federal circuit courts of appeals, and before the Department of the Interior’s Board of Indian Appeals. In the area of insurance, he represents both insurers and insured companies in coverage disputes, including contentious multimillion dollar claims. As a litigator, he has broad experience in all areas of business disputes and in a broad spectrum of industries including aviation, banking, construction, oil & gas, manufacturing, and real estate.

Gomez received his J.D. from Southern Methodist University in 2008, and obtained a B.S. in Economics from Oklahoma State University in 2004. He is a member of the American Bar Association, the Oklahoma Bar Association, the Tulsa County Bar Association, and serves as a deputy regional president for the Hispanic National Bar Association. He is also a member of Leadership Tulsa, Class 53.


• Represents Indian tribe and individual tribal members in breach-of-trust litigation against the United States before the U.S. Court of Federal Claims, including for equitable claims authorized by congressional reference adopted by the United States House of Representatives.

• Represented Indian tribe and tribal court judge in federal court litigation, including the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals, upholding tribal court jurisdiction over non-Indian financial firm.

• Represented a tribal gaming enterprise as a creditor in Delaware bankruptcy court asserting novel claims for resulting trust, and obtaining dismissal of preference counterclaim on the basis of tribal sovereign immunity.

• Represented Indian allottees in obtaining a federal court ruling permitting direct action against a third party when the Secretary of the Interior refused to take action to collect proceeds from the sale of their natural resources.

• Represented the Sac and Fox Nation and the surviving sons of Jim Thorpe in federal court litigation for repatriation of remains under the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act.

• Represented applicant for asylum in pro bono appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

• Represents tribal gaming enterprises in tort claims brought under tribal-state gaming compacts.

• Represents insurance administrator in uninsured/underinsured motorist claims and claims brought against tribal gaming enterprises for occupational injuries.

Honors & Leadership

Honors & Recognitions

• Tulsa County Bar Association “Outstanding Young Lawyer,” 2013

• Chambers USA “Up and Coming,” Native American Law, 2017

• Super Lawyers Magazine “Rising Star,” Business Litigation, 2012 to present

Community & Professional

• Hispanic National Bar Association, Region XII Deputy President

• Oklahoma Bar Association

• Tulsa County Bar Association, Chair Pro Bono Committee, former Chair Diversity Development Committee

• Collaborative Bar Leadership Academy, Class 2014

• Leadership Tulsa, Class 53

• Greater Tulsa Area Hispanic Affairs Commission, Commissioner (Mayoral Appointee)

• Board Member, College Bound Academy Charter School

• Rotary Club of Tulsa, Sargent-at-Arms 2018-19

• DRI, Native Nations Law Task Force, Membership Chair


Alerts & Publications


Southern Methodist University, J.D., 2008

Oklahoma State University, B.S., 2004


  • • Oklahoma, 2008
  • • Texas, 2018

    • U.S. Supreme Court, 2015

    • U.S. Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals, 2011

    • U.S. Third Circuit Court of Appeals, 2013

    • U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, 2016

    • U.S. Northern District of Oklahoma, 2008

    • U.S. Eastern District of Oklahoma, 2009

    • U.S. Western District of Oklahoma, 2010

    • U.S. Northern District of Texas, 2011
Back to Top