Resource Center

Conner & Winters To Host Inaugural Railroads + Shippers = Solutions Seminar


Conner & Winters, LLP is proud to host the inaugural Railroads + Shippers = Solutions event on October 3rd  at the City Club of Washington, DC.  Conner & Winters attorney Dan Elliott, who served as Chairman of the Surface Transportation Board from 2009 to 2017, is bringing together railroads, shippers and others to look at the relationship between railroads and customers, and to solve issues between these parties through informal discussions.

Additional sponsors of this groundbreaking event include: Steptoe & Johnson, Breakthrough, InterVISTAS and BNSF Railway.

Speakers will include:

  • Pat Ottensmeyer (Co-Keynote Speaker), President and CEO of Kansas City Southern 
  • Michael Lacey (Co-Keynote Speaker), President North America Zone and GBU Soda Ash and Derivatives North America Director, Solvay
  • Dan Smith, (Co-Keynote Speaker, Chief Executive Officer of Watco Companies
  • Cal Dooley, President and Chief Executive Officer, American Chemistry Council
  • Sean Finn, Executive Vice President Corporate Services and Chief Legal Officer, CN
  • Richard Schmalensee, Dean Emeritus, MIT Sloan School of Management
  • Linda Stein, Partner, Steptoe & Johnson
  • James L. Thompson, Senior Manager, North American Logistics, Whirlpool
  • Keith Borman, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association
  • Chip Nottingham, former Surface Transportation Board Chairman/Principal, Charles D. Nottingham, PLLC
  • James Boles, Senior Counsel, Regulatory, Union Pacific Railroad
  • Darin Selby, Vice President, Sales & Marketing, Intermodal and Automotive Operations, Kansas City Southern
  • Frank Mulvey, former Commissioner on the Surface Transportation Board
  • Jennifer Hedrick, Executive Director, The National Industrial Transportation League
  • Doug Mueller, President and Chief Executive Officer, Breakthrough®Fuel
  • Charlie Delacruz, Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary, National Grain and Feed Association
  • Herman J. Haksteen, Chief Executive Officer, MHW Group
  • John Mayo, Executive Director and Founder, Georgetown Center for Business and Public Policy
  • Russell Pittman, Director of Economic Research, Antitrust Division, U.S. Department of Justice
  • William Huneke, former Director, Surface Transportation Board, Office of Economics
  • Michael Meenan, Director of Government Affairs, Olin Corp.
  • Bruce Ridley, Vice President, Environmental, Health, Safety and Operations, Packaging Corporation of America
  • Alison Graab, Surface Transportation Board Detailee/Counsel, U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
  • Tim Strafford, Associate General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Association of American Railroads
  • Jeffrey Sloan, Senior Director, Regulatory & Technical Affairs, American Chemistry Council
  • Karyn Booth, Partner, Thompson Hine
  • Raymond Atkins, Partner, Sidley
  • Thomas Giovinazzi, Director Rail Services, Lafargeholcim 
  • Mike Tretheway, Chief Economist, Intervistas 
  • Lochiel Edwards, Former President, Montana Grain Growers Association
  • Fred Miller, General Counsel, U.S. House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
  • Jerry Vest, Senior Vice President Government and Industry Affairs, Genesee & Wyoming, Inc.

For more information about this event, or to register, visit:

Back to Top